Head Coach Sunday Oliseh has released the list of 23 players of the Super Eagles B squad who will seek to do Nigeria proud by winning the African Nations Championship title in Rwanda.

Goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, defenders Austin Oboroakpo and Chima Akas, Olympic Team midfielders Usman Mohammed and Yaro Bature and forward Chisom Chikatara headline a list that also includes Enyimba FC’s skillful winger Ezekiel Bassey, former junior international Ifeanyi Matthew and the Sunshine Stars’ trio of Paul Onobi, Prince Aggreh and Tunde Adeniji.

Former junior international goalkeeper Femi Thomas, Shooting Stars’ central defender Jamiu Alimi and former Supersand Eagles’ ace Bartholomew Ibenegbu have also been included.

The Eagles B team, alongside technical and backroom staff, flew out of the country on Saturday afternoon to Pretoria, South Africa, where a 10 –day pre-Championship training camp has been arranged, alongside two friendly games against fellow Rwanda –bound Angola and Cote d’Ivoire on January 6 and 11 respectively. Oliseh arrived South Africa ahead of the delegation.

Nigeria’s Super Eagles B finished third at the 3rd African Nations Championship held in South Africa in 2014, and Sunday Oliseh’s invigorated squad aims to win the Cup in Rwanda on February 7.

The Eagles B will campaign in Group C of this year’s championship alongside 2011 winners Tunisia, Niger Republic and Guinea, with matches to be played at the Stade Regional Nyamirambo, Kigali.


 Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars); Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba FC); Okiemute Odah (Warri Wolves)

Defenders: Austin Oboroakpo (Abia Warriors); Kalu Orji Okogbue (Enugu Rangers); Jamiu Alimi (Shooting Stars); Matthew Etim (Enugu Rangers); Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Stephen Eze (Sunshine Stars); Christopher Madaki Maichibi (Giwa FC); Samson Gbadebo (Lobi Stars)

Midfielders: Ifeanyi Matthew (El-Kanemi Warriors); Paul Onobi (Sunshine Stars); Usman Mohammed (FC Taraba); Yaro Bature (Nasarawa United); Bartholomew Ibenegbu (Warri Wolves); Ibrahim Attah Salau (Shooting Stars)

Forwards: Osas Okoro (Enugu Rangers); Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC); Tunde Adeniji (Sunshine Stars); Bright Onyedikachi (FC IfeanyiUbah); Chisom Chikatara (Abia Warriors); Prince Aggreh (Sunshine Stars)


NFF Admin
Author: NFF Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *