Interim Head Coach of the Senior Women National Team, Super Falcons, Chris Danjuma has called to camp 35 players as preparations begin for next month’s 2016 Olympics qualifying fixture against Equatorial Guinea.

The players have been told to report to the CJ Planet Hotel, Area 1, Abuja on Wednesday, 1st July, ahead of the team’s departure to Port Harcourt for the first leg of the third round of qualifiers, coming up against Equatorial Guinea on July 18. The return leg comes up in Bata on August 2.

Danjuma, who replaced Edwin Okon on Monday, has recalled Sweden –based defender Faith Ikidi, goalkeepers Tochukwu Oluehi and Sandra Chiichii, impressive centre –back Joy Jegede, midfielders Amarachi Okoronkwo and Osarenoma Igbinovia and Sweden -based forward Sarah Michael.

There are also goalkeepers Precious Dede and Ibubeleye Whyte, defenders Onome Ebi, Osinachi Ohale, Ngozi Ebere, Evelyn Nwabuoku, Blessing Edoho and Josephine Chukwunonye, midfielders Halimat Ayinde, Onyinyechi Ohadugha, Ngozi Okobi and Cecilia Nku, and forwards Asisat Oshoala, Francisca Ordega, Esther Sunday, Desire Oparanozie and Loveth Ayila, who were in the team that lost out at group phase of the FIFA World Cup in Canada.

Equatorial Guinea is the only other country, apart from Nigeria, to have triumphed at the biennial African Women Championship, launched in 1998. The Guineans have won the trophy twice, against Nigeria’s seven times.


Faith Ikidi (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (FK Minsk, Belarus); Osinachi Ohale (Rivers Angels); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Precious Dede (Ibom Queens); Tochukwu Oluehi (Bayelsa Queens); Ibubeleye Whyte (Rivers Angels); Sandra Chiichii (Bayelsa Queens); Charity John (Rivers Angels); Joy Jegede (Delta Queens); Mariam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons); Halimat Ayinde (Delta Queens); Ngozi Ebere (Rivers Angels); Onyinyechi Ohadugha (Rivers Angels); Esther Sunday (FK Minsk, Belarus); Chisom Henry (Sunshine Queens); Cecilia Nku (Rivers Angels); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant de Guingamp, France); Josephine Chukwunonye (Rivers Angels); Asisat Oshoala (Liverpool Ladies, England); Ngozi Okobi (Delta Queens); Evelyn Nwabuoku (BIIK Kazygurt, Kazakhstan); Gladys Akpa (Sunshine Queens); Alheri Jummai Ayuba (Adamawa Queens); Ginika Ike (Confluence Queens); Sherifat Sahid (Sunshine Queens); Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens); Blessing Edoho (Pelican Stars); Yetunde Adeboyejo (Bayelsa Queens); Winifred Eyebhoria (Nasarawa Amazons); Ebere Okoye (Nasarawa Amazons); Sarah Michael (Kif Orebro, Sweden); Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Loveth Ayila (Rivers Angels); Chioma Nwogu (Confluence Queens)

NFF Admin
Author: NFF Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *