Coach Stephen Keshi has invited goalkeeper and skipper Vincent Enyeama and 14 other overseas –based professionals for next month’s 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against Chad in Kaduna.

The three –time FIFA World Cup star is joined by defenders Godfrey Oboabona and Kenneth Omeruo, midfielders Ogenyi Onazi and Babatunde Michael and forward Ahmed Musa, who were all at last year’s FIFA World Cup finals in Brazil.

Exciting right back Leon Balogun, Israel –based John Ogu, former Switzerland junior international Steven Ukoh, China –based Aaron Samuel and Odion Ighalo, whose 20 league goals helped Championship side Watford FC to the English Premiership, have also been called alongside former junior international Rabiu Ibrahim.

New faces William Troost-Ekong, a defender based in The Netherlands, Kingsley Madu of AS Trencin in Slovakia and Portugal –based Anderson Esiti complete the list.



Goalkeeper: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France)

Defenders: Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England); Leon Balogun (Darmstadt 98, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (FC Dordrecht, The Netherlands); Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva); Babatunde Michael (Volyn Lutsk, Ukraine); Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia); Anderson Esiti (Estoril FC, Portugal); Steven Ukoh (Biel-Bienne FC, Switzerland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Aaron Samuel (Guangzhou R & F, China); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England)

…Home boys arrive Katsina

Meanwhile, Coach Keshi alongside his assistants, the backroom staff and 20 home –based professionals on Sunday arrived in Katsina for Tuesday’s commemorative match against Nigeria National League side, Spotlight FC.

Coach Stephen Keshi
Coach Stephen Keshi

Spotlight FC, which is in the Round of 32 of this year’s Federation Cup competition after defeating Idah United FC in the Round of 64, will try the Super Eagles B for strength as part of activities marking the commissioning of the brand –new, 35,000 –seater Karkanda Stadium located in the capital city.

Picked for the assignment are Chibuzor Okonkwo, Rabiu Ali, Nelson Ogbonnaya, Gabriel Okechukwu, Azeez Shobowale, Moses Ebong, Chima Akas, Nathaniel Joseph, Chidiebere Eze, Olabisi Samuel, Esosa Igbinoba, Onyedikachi Bright, Idris Aloma, Charles Henlong, Kunle Odunlami, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Tunde Adeniji, Onoriode Odah, Stanley Dimgba and Michael Egbeta.

NFF Admin
Author: NFF Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *